My Sick On The Couch Project…

So lucky me i’ve been out of action the last week i had a throat/chest bug not nice at all, so i was banished to the couch for the week.
The first day i was set i had my Macbook next to me and i was loaded up with Tea and Soup watching videos on YouTube by the “Missouri Star Quilt Co.” (Have to say Jenny is amazing) and videos by “Riley Blake Fabrics” I was having a grand old time.
Day two….. Set up with my Macbook started with the videos, grew bored.
Then started googling and found some amazing blogs.
Whilst Googling i found a blog by Mother/Daughter team Lisa and Sarah Cox from Perth their blog is called “A Spoonful of Sugar”, They are amazing. But i stumbled upon a Needlebook that they made and gave me some inspiration.
So off i trotted to  my scarps and here’s were the fun begins!

Needlebook12

I had a whole bag full of small triangles left over from a quilt that i am making and they are all the same size so there was no preparation work needed.
This is a perfect scrap buster project!!

Needlebook11

I joined together 24 different triangles to make 12 squares.
I joined on coloured triangle to a solid white triangle.
Then i hand sewed them all together, which took ages but filled up a day!

Once i finished hand sewing all my triangles together i then set the seams (which meant me getting off the couch to iron).
So off i toddled to the iron made all my squares pretty and toddled back to the couch!
Now i had all these pretty squares how was i going to arrange them….. Pinwheel??….No…. Diamonds?……No!

Hmmmmmmmm….. I know Chevron!!
So i arranged them in a Chevron zig-zaged pattern which looks awesome!! (i think i might make a full quilt like this next )
Next was hand sewing all the squares together to create my Chevron.

Needlebook14

(Please forgive the photos, keep in mind i was sick! hehe)

TaaDaa! Hand sewing done……for now!

Back to the iron to set my seams (woddle woddle woddle!)
Once i had this section done i was racking my brain to think of what other scrap material was lying around, in comes the cupcakes and purple fabric!
Using my rotary cutter and cutting mat i cut out the back piece using the cupcake fabric to the exact size as the front (mine was about 4″ x 6″)

For the spine piece again i had a precut piece leftover from a previous quilt that was a perfect size (approx 1.5″ closer to 2″)
I then hand sewed the spine to the front piece then to the back piece (as above)

Then i touch of girly was needed so i found some leftover ric rac and sewed it over the seams of the spine.

I used quiet a large hand stitch to get a patterned effect in each wave of the ric rac. I used a slightly lighter pink for a contrast.

Next i cut a piece of batting and another piece of the cupcake fabric to the size the cover.
Then i pinned it all together and hand quilted along the zig zag pattern of my Chevron.

Once i was happy with the cover i went off and found a metallic hair tie to use as a fastener to hold my needlebook together.
I pinned it in place on the back of the book in between the batting and the inside fabric…..and this is where healthy Holly steps in!!

Now i’m feeling better i’m all like hand sewing seriously what was i thinking???
Out comes the sewing machine!!

So i sewed the hair tie in place then grabbed out some bias binding (pink of course)
I edged the book completely and sewed is together with my trusty sidekick my sewing machine and boy was that so much quicker!

Needlebook3

Needlebook2
Next i grabbed some felt (other people use batting for this but i’m a little stingy)
I cut two pieces to just a bit smaller than the cover size, laid them on top of each other and sewed down the middle to join them to the cover.
I used pink cotton on mine only because i wanted some contrast against the purple spine.

Needlebook6

Next to personlise the pages a little!
I used some lace border, ribbon and ric rac on mine…

Needlebook1
Needlebook5

Needlebook9Add a button to the front and we are done!!
image

Needlebook8
No matter where life places you… the couch… in bed… in the doghouse!!
There is always a way to create!

Have a Blessed day and create! xo

Leave a Reply

